Jul 20, 2024  
2024-2025 Academic Catalog 
2024-2025 Academic Catalog

Department of Communication Studies

Office: Hugh Gillis Hall 108
Telephone: 408-924-5360
Email: commstudies@sjsu.edu
Website: www.sjsu.edu/comm

Stephanie J. Coopman
Deanna L. Fassett
Ge Gao
Rona T. Halualani
Tabitha Hart
Kathleen McConnell
Matthew Spangler
Anne Marie Todd
Andrew F. Wood, Chair

Associate Professors
Kristen Cole
Oona Hatton
Marie Haverfield
Luis Felipe Gómez
Priya Raman

Assistant Professors
Alejandro Artiga-Purcell


The Department of Communication Studies prepares competent and ethical communicators for meaningful participation in diverse local and global communities. The B.A. and M.A. programs focus on four primary areas, or cornerstones: democracy, diversity, technology, and globalization. Democracy affirms the balance of individual freedom and socio-political consensus shaped through dialogue, argument, and persuasion between individuals and groups. Diversity explores the variety and complexity of communication efforts to shape beliefs, values, and perceptions in different communities and cultures. Technology interrogates the implications of human communication in a mediated world. Globalization recognizes the interconnectedness, integration, fragmentation, and conflict within human societies and cultures in global contexts. Our undergraduate and graduate degree programs prepare alumni for a wide range of careers in areas such as education, sales, marketing, public relations, human resource development, law, politics, and community service.

Honors Program

Students requesting departmental honors in Communication Studies will be evaluated against the following criteria: (1) a minimum GPA of 3.5 in all four unit upper division courses in the major (Foundations, Inquiry, Practice Courses, 101C and 199C); (2) have at least a 3.0 overall GPA; and (3) satisfactorily complete one of the department’s four-unit graduate seminars.


    Undergraduate Major(s)

    Undergraduate Minor(s)



      Communication StudiesPage: 1 | 2