May 26, 2024  
2020-2021 Academic Catalog 
2020-2021 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Political Science

Office: Clark Hall 471

Telephone: 408-924-5550




James C. Brent
Frances L. Edwards
Melinda Jackson
Kenneth B. Peter
Lawrence Quill
Karthika Sasikumar

Associate Professors

Sergio Bejar-Lopez
Garrick Percival, Chair

Assistant Professors

Mary Currin-Percival
Danijela Dudley
Leonard Lira
Matthew Record


Political science majors tackle the public issues of the day as well as the timeless issues of government, public policy and the political process. The Department of Political Science offers a BA in political science and a master’s degree in public administration (MPA). Our courses cover U.S. politics and public administration, public law, comparative politics, international relations and political theory. Our extensive internship program includes funded internships in Sacramento and Washington, D.C., and our students have the opportunity to participate in a Model United Nations and the honor society Pi Sigma Alpha. We arrange annual trips to the state capital and state supreme court and campus presentations by guest speakers who range from Holocaust survivors to U. S. Senators. We prepare our graduates for advanced graduate study as well as careers in law, teaching, government service, legislative staffing, political consulting, interest group representation, international relations and other fields. Contact us at 408-924-5550 or visit us at

Honors Program

The achievements of political science majors with an overall GPA of 3.20 and a 3.50 GPA in political science are recognized by the department honors program. These outstanding students are eligible to enroll in POLS 190H - Honors Thesis . Students who attain the required GPA and complete the honors thesis graduate with Honors in Political Science. Interested students should consult the department chairperson.


    Undergraduate Major(s)

    Undergraduate Minor(s)



      Political SciencePublic Administration